From corn fields comes inspiration

Growing up in the Midwest,  I have seen my share of corn fields. Although, I was not raised on a farm or working in the fields, we did pass fields traveling from small town to small town visiting family and friends throughout the summers.

‘Knee high by 4th of July’ was a phrase used to measure how well the corn was doing that year. If it was knee high, the fields were doing well. If not, then they knew not to expect a decent harvest. Or so I heard. The phrase rattles in my head every time I pass a corn field in the summertime, and almost as instinct, I immediately scramble for the date and make a quick determination of how the corn is doing.

I often think about how we use old phrases these days and we don’t always know what they mean or where they came from. We could simply look them up on Google and get a quick answer, say ‘oh that’s cool, and forget it within minutes. But I like to think about these seemingly meaningless things and I often come to some kind of revelation. I amaze myself with these newly found bits of wisdom, but had not found how to communicate them effectively.

I am using this blog to express my thoughts, ideas, wonderings and such. Inspired by my surroundings,the happenings of my work and home life, my family and friends, I hope to write about my own wonderment and long-thought conclusions. The corn fields in my region are but one example of how my mind grabs a spark of something and runs with it. So I thought it appropriate when I passed by a field at the time I was naming this blog.

One thought on “From corn fields comes inspiration

  1. I too grew up with “knee high by the fourth of July”. It is amazing how our language incorporates so many old sayings, and we do not even question their roots. Thank you for this post. I enjoy your writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

